Read our COVID-19 research and news.

2016 Grand prize winner

Gilad Evrony

The author of the prize-winning essay, Gilad Evrony, received his undergraduate degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He served in the Intelligence Division of the Israel Defense Forces and completed an M.D. and Ph.D. at Harvard Medical School, with graduate research in the laboratory of Dr. Christopher Walsh at Boston Children's Hospital. Dr.

2016 Finalists

  • Anna Beyeler

    Anna Beyeler, for her essay "Parsing reward from aversion." Beyeler, received her undergraduate degree from the University of Bordeaux, in southern France, where she then completed her Ph.D. degree requirements. As a postdoctoral fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, she has been exploring the neural circuit mechanisms underlying rewarding and aversive memories. Dr.

  • Arjun Krishnaswamy

    Arjun Krishnaswamy, for his essay "Building connections." Krishnaswamy, received undergraduate and Ph.D. degrees from McGill University. As a postdoctoral fellow at Harvard University, he has been using molecular, electrophysiological, and genetic approaches to learn how developing neurons in the mouse retina choose synaptic targets and establish wiring patterns important for retinal function. Dr. Krishnaswamy will continue this line of research at McGill University.

Latest News