Read our COVID-19 research and news.

2015 Grand prize winner

Shigeki Watanabe

The author of the prize-winning essay, Shigeki Watanabe, received his undergraduate and Ph.D. degrees from University of Utah. For his Ph.D. and postdoctoral work, he has been studying the mechanisms underlying synaptic vesicle cycle in Caenorhabditis elegans neuromuscular junctions and mouse hippocampal neurons.

2015 Finalists

  • Julija Krupic

    Julija Krupic, for her essay "Brain crystals." Krupic received her undergraduate degree from Vilnius University and a Ph.D. from University College London (UCL). She is currently a Sir Henry Wellcome Fellow at UCL, where she conducts research on how place cell activity guides animal behavior. In 2016, Julija will move to the Salk Institute where she will study how connectivity affects the functional properties of place cells.

  • Jeremiah Cohen

    Jeremiah Cohen, for his essay "Dopamine and serotonin signals for reward across time scales." Cohen, received his undergraduate degree from Brandeis University, a Ph.D. in neuroscience from Vanderbilt University, and completed his postdoctoral work at Harvard University. His laboratory in the Solomon H. Snyder Department of Neuroscience at Johns Hopkins University investigates the neural circuits underlying reward, mood, and decision-making.

Latest News