Read our COVID-19 research and news.

AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize

The Association’s oldest award, the AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize, supported by The Fodor Family Trust, was established in 1923 with funds donated by Newcomb Cleveland of New York City and was originally called the AAAS Thousand Dollar Prize. It is now known as the AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize, and its value is US$25,000. In addition to the prize funds, the winner receives a commemorative plaque, complimentary registration, and reimbursement for reasonable travel and hotel expenses to attend the AAAS Annual Meeting in order to accept the prize.


The prize is awarded to the author or authors of an outstanding paper published in the Research Articles or Reports sections of Science. Each annual contest starts with the first issue of June and ends with the last issue of the following May.

An eligible paper is one that includes original research data, theory, or synthesis; is a fundamental contribution to basic knowledge or is a technical achievement of far-reaching consequence; and is a first-time publication of the author’s own work. Reference to pertinent earlier work by the author may be included to give perspective.

Nomination Procedures

Throughout the year, readers of Science are invited to nominate papers appearing in the Research Articles or Reports sections. Nominations must be submitted in our online form by June 30.

Please note: self-nominations will not be accepted for the AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize. Final selection is determined by a panel of distinguished scientists appointed by the editor-in-chief of Science.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is committed to equal opportunity for all persons, without regard to race, color, religion, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, national origin, age, disability, veteran status, or other protected categories. AAAS seeks as diverse a pool of award nominations as possible, including as well a wide range of disciplines, institutional types, and geographical locations.

2019-2020 Recipients

The 2019-2020 Newcomb Cleveland Prize was awarded to Brian Lovett, Etienne Bilgo, Souro Abel Millogo, Abel Kader Ouattara, Issiaka Sare, Edounou Jacques Gnambani, Roch K. Dabire, Abdoulaye Diabate, Raymond J. St. Leger for their outstanding research article “Transgenic Metarhizium rapidly kills mosquitoes in a malaria-endemic region of Burkina Faso,” published in Science 31 May 2019.

An estimated two billion people live in areas where mosquito-borne diseases are endemic and according to the World Health Organization there are over 400,000 deaths from malaria alone annually. In Burkina Faso, a team of researchers from the University of Maryland and the local Research Institute of Health Sciences & Centre Muraz came together to tackle this real-world problem exemplified by the sobering statistic that this West African nation of twenty million has over ten million confirmed cases of malaria each year.

Mosquitos are necessary to transmit the malaria parasite to its mammalian hosts, but the insects themselves, are prone to fungal infections. Lovett et al.engineered a specific fungal pathogen of anophelines, Metarhizium pingshaense, to carry insect-selective toxins and trialed the effectiveness of this fungus for controlling mosquitos in near-field conditions in Burkina Faso in a setup called MosquitoSphere. During the course of the study, approximately 75% of wild insecticide-resistant mosquitos released into that environment, became infected with the transgenic fungus, causing population collapse within 45 days.

Read a list of past recipients.


Jessica L. Slater, PhD
Newcomb Cleveland Prize Coordinator
Science Editorial Office
1200 New York Avenue, NW, Room 1044
Washington, DC 20005

Phone 202-326-6675

Latest News