A Baker's Dozen Win Top Science Prizes

WASHINGTON, D.C.--National Science Foundation director Neal Lane announced here yesterday the 1997 recipients of the National Medal of Science, the nation's highest scientific honor. Also announced were winners of the National Medal of Technology. Medalists will be recognized at a White House ceremony later this year.

One science medal winner, Princeton astronomer Martin Schwarzschild, died on 10 April and so is being honored posthumously. The others are:

  • William K. Estes, cognitive scientist and professor emeritus of psychology at Harvard University
  • Darleane C. Hoffman, nuclear chemist and director of the Glenn T. Seaborg Institute for Transactinium Science at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California (UC), Berkeley
  • Harold S. Johnston, professor emeritus of chemistry at UC Berkeley
  • Marshall N. Rosenbluth, physicist at UC San Diego
  • James D. Watson, molecular biologist and president of Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory in Cold Spring Harbor, New York
  • Robert A. Weinberg, cancer geneticist at the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • George W. Wetherill, planetary dynamicist at Carnegie Institution in Washington, D.C.
  • Shing-Tung Yau, mathematician at Harvard University.

The technology medal winners are:

  • Norman R. Augustine, CEO of Lockheed Martin in Bethesda, Maryland
  • Ray M. Dolby, founder of Dolby Laboratories Inc. in San Francisco
  • Robert S. Ledley, professor of radiology at Georgetown University Medical School
  • Vinton Gray Cerf of MCI and Robert E. Kahn, president of the Corporation for National Research Initiatives. The two are being honored as a team for developing Internet protocols.