Read our COVID-19 research and news.

Podcast Sponsored podcast

An interview with the winners of the 2018 Science & SciLifeLab Prize for Young Scientists

This podcast is brought to you by the Science/AAAS Custom Publishing Office

An interview with the winners of the 2018 Science & SciLifeLab Prize for Young Scientists

The Science & SciLifeLab Prize for Young Scientists was established in 2013 as a collaboration between Science/AAAS and SciLifeLab. The prize rewards excellence amongst young researchers from around the world. It was created to recognize that global economic health is dependent upon a vibrant research community.

The 2018 prize winners are interviewed by Dr. Sean Sanders, Senior Editor for Custom Publishing at Science.  He encourages them to talk about their research as well as their individual motivations for doing the work they do. Learn what makes these young researchers tick and hear their advice for how to be successful in science while maintaining a healthy personal life.

More about the prize

The Science & SciLifeLab Prize for Young Scientists prize is awarded annually to four young scientists for outstanding life science research for which he/she earned a doctoral degree in the previous two years. Each year, a grand prize winner is selected from the applicants to receive 30,000 USD in prize money. The three other category winners are awarded 10,000 USD each for their accomplishments. The grand prize-winning essay is published in Science and essays from the three category winners are published online.

In addition, all four winners are invited to Sweden in December to take part in a unique week of events in honor of science—with the opportunity to meet with leading researchers in their field. The annual award ceremony and banquet is held in the Grand Hôtel Hall of Mirrors in Stockholm, the original venue of the Nobel Prize banquet.

[Music: Chris Burns; Podcast editing and production: Sean Sanders]

Speaker bios

Christoph A. Thaiss, Ph.D.

Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA

Matthew Savoca, Ph.D.

Hopkins Marine Station
Stanford University
Pacific Grove, CA

Ruixue Wan, Ph.D.

School of Medicine
Tsinghua University
Beijing, China

Tim Wang, Ph.D.

Janelia Research Campus
Ashburn, Virginia

Sponsored by