Meet the News Staff

Tim Appenzeller
News Editor
Plans, coordinates, and manages Science's weekly news coverage. Final editor for News stories.
Phone: +1 202-326-6584
Fax: +1 202-408-8015
Email: tappenze@aaas.org

John Bohannon
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about science, policy, and research news
Email: gonzo@aaas.org

Daniel Clery
Deputy News Editor, U.K.
Edits European science policy news and physical sciences.
Email: dclery@science-int.co.uk

Adrian Cho
Staff Writer
Writes about physics.
Email: acho@aaas.org

Jon Cohen
News Writer (San Diego Bureau)
Writes about the Southwestern United States and Southern California in particular, AIDS, vaccines, and immunology.
Phone: +1 760-942-3252
Fax: +1 760-942-4979
Email: jcohen1@cox.net

Jennifer Couzin-Frankel
Staff Writer
Writes about molecular and cellular biology, genetics, immunology, and biomedical policy.
Phone: + 1 202-312-6363
Fax: + 1 202-371-9227
Email: jcouzin@aaas.org

Elizabeth Culotta
Deputy News Editor
Edits news coverage of anthropology, archaeology, and evolution.
Email: eculotta@aaas.org

Martin Enserink
Contributing Editor, Europe
Writes about biology, medicine, and science policy, with emphasis on French science and policy.
Email: menserin@aaas.org

Ann Gibbons
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about paleoanthropology, anthropology, and biological sciences.
Email: ann.gibbons@gmail.com

Carolyn Gramling
Edits "News of the Week" section.
Email: cgramling@aaas.org

David Grimm
Online News Editor
Manages online news coverage, edits Science's daily online news service and writes a variety of stories.
Phone: +1 202-326-7024
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
Email: dgrimm@aaas.org

Eric Hand
Deputy News Editor for Physical Sciences
Email: ehand@aaas.org

Mara Hvistendahl
Contributing Correspondent
Email: mhvisten@aaas.org

Jocelyn Kaiser
Staff Writer
Writes about biomedical policy, environmental science from toxicology to ecology, and scientific misconduct.
Phone: +1 202-326-6598
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
Email: jkaiser@aaas.org

Sam Kean
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about biomedicine and biomedical research, and science policy
Email: samkean@gmail.com

Kai Kuperschmidt
Contributing Correspondent, Berlin
Email: mail@kaikupferschmidt.de

Andrew Lawler
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about archaeology
Phone: +1 207 542 2707
Email: aflawler@gmail.com

Mitch Leslie
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about molecular and cell biology.
Phone: +1 503-245-3181
Email: mleslie@nasw.org

David Malakoff
Coordinates and edits coverage of science policy
Email: dmalakof@aaas.org

Charles C. Mann
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about ecology and computer networks.
Email: ccmann@comcast.net

Catherine Matacic
Associate Online Editor
Email: cmatacic@aaas.org

Jeffrey Mervis
Senior Correspondent
Writes about U.S. science policy, with emphasis on the National Science Foundation and the Office of Science and Technology Policy.
Phone: +1 202-326-7012
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
Email: jmervis@aaas.org

Virginia Morell
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about biology and ecology.
Email: vmorell49@gmail.com

Dennis Normile
Contributing Correspondent, Shanghai, China
Writes about research and science policy developments in Asia, particularly China and Japan.
Phone: +81 3 3391 0630
Fax: +81 3 5936 3531
Email: dnormile@gol.com

Elizabeth Pennisi
Senior Correspondent
Writes about molecular and cell biology, genetics, and plant sciences.
Phone: +1 202-326-6597
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
Email: epennisi@aaas.org

Leslie Roberts
Deputy News Editor
Edits news coverage of biological sciences.
Phone: +1 202-326-6529
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
Email: lroberts@aaas.org

Robert Service
Pacific Northwest Bureau
Writes about materials science and chemistry and scientific institutions in the Pacific Northwest.
Phone: +1 503-963-1940
Fax: +1 503-731-6381
Email: rservice@aaas.org

Kelly Servick
Staff Writer
Email: kservick@aaas.org

Erik Stokstad
Staff Writer
Writes about agricultural research, invasive species, ecology, marine science, and paleontology.
Phone: +1 202-326-6714
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
Email: estoksta@aaas.org

Richard Stone
International News Editor
Oversees and edits international news coverage; writes about science and science policy in Asia, Russia, and the Middle East.
Email: rstone@aaas.org

John Travis
Managing News Editor
Coordinates and edits coverage of research.
Phone: +1 202-326-6585
Email: jtravis@aaas.org

Emily Underwood
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about earth sciences and other research.
Phone: +1 202 326 6627
Email: euunderwo@aaas.org

Gretchen Vogel
Contributing Correspondent, Berlin
Writes about science policy in Germany and Central Europe, developmental biology, and evolution.
Phone: +49 30 8101 3082
Fax: +49 30 8101 3083
Email: gvogel@aaas.org

Paul Voosen
Staff Writer
Writes about earth and planetary science
Email: pvoosen@aaas.org

Meredith Wadman
Staff Writer
Writes about neuroscience and biomedical issues.
Email: mwadman@aaas.org

Latest News