Meet the News staff

For more on each writer or editor, including recent stories, follow the link in their name.

Tim Appenzeller
News Editor
Plans, coordinates, and manages Science's weekly news coverage. Final editor for News stories.
Phone: +1 202-326-6584
Email: tappenze@aaas.org

Rachel Bernstein
Oversees careers issues as the editor of Science Careers.
Email: rbernste@aaas.org

John Bohannon
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about science, policy, and research news.
Email: gonzo@aaas.org

Daniel Clery
Senior Correspondent, United Kingdom
Writes about physical sciences, specializing in astronomy and fusion, and European science policy.
Email: dclery@science-int.co.uk

Adrian Cho
Staff Writer
Writes about physics.
Email: acho@aaas.org

Jon Cohen
News Writer (San Diego Bureau)
Writes about AIDS, vaccines, immunology, and genome editing, including CRISPR.
Phone: +1 760-942-3252
Fax: +1 760-942-4979
Email: jcohen1@cox.net

Warren Cornwall
Contributing Correspondent
Email: cornwallw@gmail.com

Jennifer Couzin-Frankel
Staff Writer
Writes about molecular and cellular biology, genetics, immunology, and biomedical policy.
Phone: + 1 202-312-6363
Email: jcouzin@aaas.org

Elizabeth Culotta
Deputy News Editor
Edits news coverage of anthropology, archaeology, and evolution.
Email: eculotta@aaas.org

Martin Enserink
Contributing Editor, Europe
Edits European news coverage and writes about biology, medicine, and science policy, with an emphasis on infectious diseases and global health.
Email: menserin@aaas.org

Ann Gibbons
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about paleoanthropology, anthropology, and biological sciences.
Phone: +1 412-422-3940
Email: ann.gibbons@gmail.com

Carolyn Gramling
Edits "News In Brief" section and covers paleontology.
Email: cgramling@aaas.org

David Grimm
Online News Editor
Manages online news coverage, edits Science's daily online news service and writes a variety of stories.
Email: dgrimm@aaas.org

Eric Hand
Deputy News Editor for Physical Sciences
Responsible for news coverage in earth and planetary science, physics, astronomy, and chemistry.
Phone: +1-202-326-6587
Email: ehand@aaas.org

Mara Hvistendahl
Contributing Correspondent
Email: mhvisten@aaas.org

Jocelyn Kaiser
Staff Writer
Writes about biomedical policy, cancer research, human genetics, gene therapy, and scientific misconduct.
Phone: +1 202-326-6598
Email: jkaiser@aaas.org

Sam Kean
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about biomedicine and biomedical research, and science policy.
Email: samkean@gmail.com

Eli Kintisch
Contributing Correspondent
Covers policy news with an emphasis on climate and energy research.

Maggie Kuo
Staff Writer, Science Careers
Email: mkuo@aaas.org

Kai Kuperschmidt
Contributing Correspondent, Berlin
Email: mail@kaikupferschmidt.de

Andrew Lawler
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about archaeology.
Phone: +1 207 542 2707
Email: aflawler@gmail.com

Mitch Leslie
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about molecular and cell biology.
Phone: +1 503-245-3181
Email: mleslie@nasw.org

David Malakoff
Coordinates and edits coverage of science policy.
Phone:+1 202-326-6446
Email: dmalakof@aaas.org

Catherine Matacic
Associate Online Editor, specializing in linguistics and the social sciences.
Phone: +1 202-326-6589
Email: cmatacic@aaas.org

Jeffrey Mervis
Senior Correspondent
Writes about how government affects the scientific community. Also tracks STEM education and training issues.
Phone: +1 202-326-7012
Email: jmervis@aaas.org

Virginia Morell
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about biology and ecology.
Email: vmorell49@gmail.com

Dennis Normile
Contributing Correspondent, Shanghai, China
Writes about research and science policy developments in Asia, particularly China and Japan.
Phone:+86 182 0215 6373
Email: dnormile@gol.com

Elisabeth Pain
Careers Contributing Editor for Europe
Email: elisabethpain@gmail.com

Elizabeth Pennisi
Senior Correspondent
Writes about molecular and cell biology, genetics, and plant sciences.
Phone: +1 202-326-6597
Email: epennisi@aaas.org

Leslie Roberts
Deputy News Editor
Edits news coverage of biological sciences.
Phone: +1 202-326-6529
Email: lroberts@aaas.org

Robert Service
Pacific Northwest Bureau
Writes about materials science, chemistry, and scientific institutions in the Pacific Northwest.
Phone: +1 503-963-1940
Email: rservice@aaas.org

Kelly Servick
Staff Writer
Email: kservick@aaas.org

Erik Stokstad
Staff Writer, Cambridge, U.K.
Writes about European science policy and agricultural research, invasive species, ecology, marine science, and paleontology.
Email: estokstad@science-int.co.uk

Richard Stone
International News Editor
Oversees and edits international news coverage; writes about science and science policy in Asia, Russia, and the Middle East.
Phone: +1 202-326-6533
Email: rstone@aaas.org

John Travis
Managing News Editor
Coordinates and edits coverage of research.
Phone: +1 202-326-6585
Email: jtravis@aaas.org

Emily Underwood
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about neuroscience and other research.
Email: emily.l.underwood@gmail.com

Gretchen Vogel
Contributing Correspondent, Berlin
Writes about science policy in Germany and Central Europe, developmental biology, and evolution.
Phone: +49 30 8101 3082
Email: gvogel@aaas.org

Paul Voosen
Staff Writer
Writes about earth and planetary science.
Phone: + 1 202-326-6785
Email: pvoosen@aaas.org

Lizzie Wade
Contributing Correspondent, Mexico City
Writes about Latin America and archaeology.
Email: ewwade@gmail.com

Meredith Wadman
Staff Writer
Writes about neuroscience and biomedical issues.
Phone: +1 202-326-8717
Email: mwadman@aaas.org

Latest News