Meet the News Staff

Tim Appenzeller
News Editor
Plans, coordinates, and manages Science's weekly news coverage. Final editor for News stories.
Phone: +1 202-326-6584
Fax: +1 202-408-8015
E-Mail: tappenze@aaas.org

Pallava Bagla
Contributing Correspondent, New Delhi
Coverage of research and science policy in South Asia.
E-Mail: pbagla@vsnl.com
Phone: +91 11-2271-2896
mobile: +91 98103 01400
Fax: +91 11-2271-5964

Michael Balter
Contributing Correspondent, Paris
Writes about French science policy, infectious diseases, AIDS, archaeology, and human evolution.
E-Mail: michael.balter@gmail.com

John Bohannon
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about science, policy, and research news
email: gonzo@aaas.org

Daniel Clery
Deputy News Editor, U.K.
Edits European science policy news and physical sciences.
E-Mail: dclery@science-int.co.uk

Adrian Cho
Staff Writer
Writes about physics.
E-Mail: acho@aaas.org

Jon Cohen
News Writer (San Diego Bureau)
Writes about the Southwestern United States and Southern California in particular, AIDS, vaccines, and immunology.
Phone: +1 760-942-3252
Fax: +1 760-942-4979
E-Mail: jcohen1@cox.net

Robert Coontz
Deputy News Editor
Edits news coverage of physical and earth sciences.
Phone: +1 202-326-6527
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
E-Mail: rcoontz@aaas.org

Jennifer Couzin-Frankel
Staff Writer
Writes about molecular and cellular biology, genetics, immunology, and biomedical policy.
Phone: + 1 202-312-6363
Fax: + 1 202-371-9227
E-Mail: jcouzin@aaas.org

Elizabeth Culotta
Deputy News Editor
Edits news coverage of anthropology, archaeology, and evolution.
e-mail:

Hassan DuRant
Intern

Martin Enserink
Contributing Editor, Europe
Writes about biology, medicine, and science policy, with emphasis on French science and policy.
E-Mail: menserin@aaas.org

Ann Gibbons
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about paleoanthropology, anthropology, and biological sciences.
E-Mail: ann.gibbons@gmail.com

Carolyn Gramling
Edits "News of the Week" section.
E-Mail: cgramling@aaas.org

David Grimm
Online News Editor
Manages online news coverage, edits Science's daily online news service and writes a variety of stories.
Phone: +1 202-326-7024
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
E-Mail: dgrimm@aaas.org

Mara Hvistendahl
Contributing Editor
Writes about science in China, edits Asia coverage.
E-Mail: mhvisten@aaas.org

Jocelyn Kaiser
Staff Writer
Writes about biomedical policy, environmental science from toxicology to ecology, and scientific misconduct.
Phone: +1 202-326-6598
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
E-Mail: jkaiser@aaas.org

Sam Kean
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about biomedicine and biomedical research, and science policy
E-Mail: samkean@gmail.com

Richard Kerr
Staff Writer
Writes about earth and planetary sciences and paleontology.
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
E-Mail: rkerr@aaas.org

Andrew Lawler
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about archaeology
Phone: +1 207 542 2707
E-Mail: aflawler@gmail.com

Mitch Leslie
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about molecular and cell biology.
Phone: +1 503-245-3181
E-Mail: mleslie@nasw.org

David Malakoff
Coordinates and edits coverage of science policy
E-Mail: dmalakof@aaas.org

Charles C. Mann
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about ecology and computer networks.
E-Mail: ccmann@comcast.net

Eliot Marshall
Senior Correspondent
Edits and writes articles about science policy, and biomedical research issues.
E-Mail: emarshal@aaas.org

Jeffrey Mervis
Senior Correspondent
Writes about U.S. science policy, with emphasis on the National Science Foundation and the Office of Science and Technology Policy.
Phone: +1 202-326-7012
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
E-Mail: jmervis@aaas.org

Virginia Morell
Contributing Correspondent
Writes about biology and ecology.
E-Mail: vmorell49@gmail.com

Dennis Normile
Contributing Correspondent, Tokyo
Writes about research and science policy developments in Asia, particularly Japan.
Phone: +81 3 3391 0630
Fax: +81 3 5936 3531
E-Mail: dnormile@gol.com

Elizabeth Pennisi
Senior Correspondent
Writes about molecular and cell biology, genetics, and plant sciences.
Phone: +1 202-326-6597
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
E-Mail: epennisi@aaas.org

Leslie Roberts
Deputy News Editor
Edits news coverage of biological sciences.
Phone: +1 202-326-6529
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
E-Mail: lroberts@aaas.org

Xochitl Rojas-Rocha
Intern

Robert Service
Pacific Northwest Bureau
Writes about materials science and chemistry and scientific institutions in the Pacific Northwest.
Phone: +1 503-963-1940
Fax: +1 503-731-6381
E-Mail: rservice@aaas.org

Erik Stokstad
Staff Writer
Writes about agricultural research, invasive species, ecology, marine science, and paleontology.
Phone: +1 202-326-6714
Fax: +1 202-371-9227
E-Mail: estoksta@aaas.org

Richard Stone
International News Editor
Oversees and edits international news coverage; writes about science and science policy in Asia, Russia, and the Middle East.
E-Mail: rstone@aaas.org

John Travis
Managing News Editor
Coordinates and edits coverage of research.
Phone: +1 202-326-6585
E-Mail: jtravis@aaas.org

Emily Underwood
Staff Writer
Writes about earth sciences and other research.
Phone: +1 202 326 6627
E-Mail: euunderwo@aaas.org

Gretchen Vogel
Contributing Correspondent, Berlin
Writes about science policy in Germany and Central Europe, developmental biology, and evolution.
Phone: +49 30 8101 3082
Fax: +49 30 8101 3083
E-Mail: gvogel@aaas.org

Nadia Whitehead
Intern

Latest News

  • Viewed
  • Past:
  • Trending
  • Most Read

Planet x promo