Kavli Foundation 2010 Prize Winners Named

Eight scientists today receive Kavli Prizes, which in addition to a scroll and medal provide $1 million in each of three categories—astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience—to be divided among the winners. Chosen by independent panels, the awardees announced in New York City and Oslo by the Norway-based Kavli Foundation are:

In astrophysics, for telescope design: Jerry Nelson of the University of California, Santa Cruz; Ray Wilson, formerly of Imperial College London and the European Southern Observatory; and Roger Angel of the University of Arizona, Tucson.

In nanoscience, for work respectively in atomic and DNA structure: Donald M. Eigler of IBM's Almaden Research Center in San Jose, California; and Nadrian Seeman of New York University.

In neuroscience, for work on nerve signaling in the brain: Thomas Südhof of Stanford University School of Medicine; Richard Scheller of Genentech; and James Rothman of Yale University.