Team Members

AAAS Board of Directors



To learn more about the coverage/expertise areas of the News editors and writers below, and for contact information, see our Meet the News team page.

News Editor Tim Appenzeller

Managing Editor John Travis

International Editor Martin Enserink

Deputy News Editors Elizabeth Culotta, David Grimm, Lila Guterman, Eric Hand, David Malakoff, Leslie Roberts

Associate Editors Jeffrey Brainard, Catherine Matacic

Senior Correspondents Daniel Clery (UK), Jon Cohen, Jeffrey Mervis, Elizabeth Pennisi

News Writers Adrian Cho, Jennifer Couzin-Frankel, Jocelyn Kaiser, Kelly Servick, Robert F. Service, Erik Stokstad (Cambridge, UK), Paul Voosen, Meredith Wadman

Interns Frankie Schembri

Contributing Correspondents Warren Cornwall, Ann Gibbons, Mara Hvistendahl, Sam Kean, Eli Kintisch, Kai Kupferschmidt (Berlin), Andrew Lawler, Mitch Leslie, Charles C. Mann, Eliot Marshall, Virginia Morell, Dennis Normile (Tokyo), Charles Piller, Heather Pringle, Tania Rabesandratana (London), Emily Underwood, Gretchen Vogel (Berlin), Lizzie Wade (Mexico City)

Careers Donisha Adams, Rachel Bernstein (Editor), Katie Langin

Copy Editors Julia Cole (Senior Copy Editor), Cyra Master (Copy Chief)

Administrative Support Meagan Weiland


To learn more about the backgrounds and areas of emphasis of the editors below, and for contact information, see our Meet the Editors page.

Deputy Editor, Cambridge Stella M. Hurtley (UK)

Deputy Editor, Insights Julia Fahrenkamp-Uppenbrink (UK)

Deputy Editors, Research Phillip D. Szuromi, Sacha Vignieri

Senior Editorial Fellow Andrew M. Sugden (UK)

Senior Editors Gemma Alderton (UK), Caroline Ash (UK), Pamela J. Hines, Paula A. Kiberstis, Marc S. Lavine (Canada), Steve Mao, Ian S. Osborne (UK), Beverly A. Purnell, L. Bryan Ray, H. Jesse Smith, Jelena Stajic, Peter Stern (UK), Brad Wible, Laura M. Zahn

Associate Editors Michael A. Funk, Brent Grocholski, Priscilla N. Kelly, Tage S. Rai, Seth Thomas Scanlon (UK), Keith T. Smith (UK)

Associate Book Review Editor Valerie B. Thompson

Letters Editor Jennifer Sills

Lead Content Production Editors Harry Jach, Lauren Kmec

Content Production Editors Amelia Beyna, Jeffrey E. Cook, Amber Esplin, Chris Filiatreau, Cynthia Howe, Nida Masiulis

Senior Editorial Coordinators Carolyn Kyle, Beverly Shields

Editorial Coordinators Aneera Dobbins, Joi S. Granger, Jeffrey Hearn, Lisa Johnson, Maryrose Madrid, Shannon McMahon, Jerry Richardson, Alice Whaley (UK), Anita Wynn

Publications Assistants Ope Martins, Ronmel Navas, Hilary Stewart (UK), Alana Warnke, Brian White

Executive Assistant Jessica Slater

ASI Director, Operations Janet Clements (UK)

ASI Senior Office Administrator Jessica Waldock (UK)

Science Translational Medicine

Science Signaling

Science Advances

Office of Publishing

Publisher, Science Family of Journals Bill Moran

Director, Product and Custom Publishing Will Schweitzer

Director, Business Strategy Operations and Portfolio Management Sarah Whalen

Associate Director, Product Management Kristopher Bishop

Manager, Product Development Hannah Heckner

Senior Product Associate Robert Koepke

Digital Product Associate Michael Hardesty

Business Systems and Financial Analysis Director Randy Yi

Director, Business Operations and Analysis Eric Knott

Systems Analyst Nicole Mehmedovich

Senior Business Analyst Cory Lipman

Manager, Business Operations Jessica Tierney

Business Analysts Meron Kebede, Sandy Kim, Jourdan Stewart

Financial Analyst Julian Iriarte

Advertising System Administrator Tina Burks

Sales Coordinator Shirley Young

Director, Copyright, Licensing, Special Projects Emilie David

Rights and Permissions Associate Elizabeth Sandler

Rights, Contracts, and Licensing Associate Lili Catlett

Rights and Permissions Assistant Alexander Lee

Digital Media Operations

Digital/Print Strategy Manager Jason Hillman

Quality Technical Manager Marcus Spiegler

Digital Production Manager Lisa Stanford

Assistant Manager Digital/Print Rebecca Doshi

Senior Content Specialists Steve Forrester, Antoinette Hodal, Lori Murphy

Content Specialists Jacob Hedrick, Kimberley Oster

Digital Media Web Technologies

Technical Director David Levy

Project Manager Dean Robbins

Developers Liana Birke, Ryan Jensen 

Digital Media Multimedia

Multimedia Manager Sarah Crespi

Managing Web Producer Kara Estelle-Powers

Digital Producer Jessica Hubbard

Video Producers Chris Burns, Meagan Cantwell

Social Media Producer Brice Russ

Digital Media Analytics

Director of Analytics Enrique Gonzales

Digital Reporting Analyst Timothy Frailey

Digital Media Design

Design Director Beth Rakouskas

Design Editor Marcy Atarod

Senior Designer Chrystal Smith

Designer Christina Aycock

Graphics Managing Editor Alberto Cuadra

Graphics Editor Nirja Desai

Senior Scientific Illustrators Valerie Altounian, Chris Bickel

Scientific Illustrator Alice Kitterman

Interactive Graphics Editor Jia You

Senior Graphics Specialists Holly Bishop, Nathalie Cary

Photography Managing Editor William Douthitt

Photo Editor Emily Petersen

Image Rights and Financial Manager Jessica Adams

Advertising, Custom Publications, and Global Collaborations

General Advertising Contact Information

Science Advertising 1200 New York Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20005

Product Advertising:

Classified Advertising/Submit a Classified Ad:

Also, see our Online Advertiser Portal for complete information on advertising in Science print and online publications.

Senior Editor, Custom Publishing Sean Sanders: 202-326-6430

Custom Publishing Assistant Editor Jackie Oberst: 202-326-6463,

Senior Traffic Associate Christine Hall

Associate Director, Business Development Justin Sawyers: 202-326-7061

Global Marketing Manager Allison Pritchard

Digital Marketing Manager Aimee Aponte

Marketing Manager Shawana Arnold

Marketing Associates Mike Romano, Tori Velasquez

Global Sales Director Tracy Holmes: +44 (0) 1223 326525

Advertising Production Operations Manager Deborah Tompkins

Senior Production Specialist/Graphic Designer Amy Hardcastle

Director, Business Development and Academic Publishing Relations, Asia, Xiaoying Chu: +86-131 6136 3212,

Collaboration/Custom Publications/Japan Adarsh Sandhu + 81532-81-5142

East Coast/E. Canada Laurie Faraday: 508-747-9395, FAX 617-507-8189

West Coast/W. Canada Lynne Stickrod: 415-931-9782, FAX 415-520-6940

Midwest Jeffrey Dembksi: 847-498-4520 x3005, Steven Loerch: 847-498-4520 x3006

UK Europe/Asia Roger Goncalves: TEL/FAX +41 43 243 1358

Japan Kaoru Sasaki: +81 3-6459-4174,; Miyuki Tani: +81 6-6202-6272,

China/Taiwan Danny Zhao: +86-131 4114

Additional credits, sponsorship and marketing contacts, and complete information about job and other advertising opportunities can be found in the site's About Science Careers section.

Worldwide Associate Director of Science Careers Tracy Holmes: +44  (0) 1223 326525, FAX +44  (0) 1223 326532
U.S. Sales Manager, Science Careers Claudia Paulsen-Young: 202-326-6577
Europe/ROW Sales Sarah Lelarge
Sales Admin Assistant Kelly Grace  +44 (0)1223 326528
Japan Kaoru Sasaki: +81 3-6459-4174,; Miyuki Tani: +81 6-6202-6272,
China/Taiwan Danny Zhao: +86-131 4114

Institutional Licensing

General Institutional Licensing Contact Information

Science Institutional Licensing 1200 New York Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20005; (202) 326-6730

Director, Institutional Licensing Iquo Edim

Associate Director, Research and Development Elisabeth Leonard

Senior Institutional Licensing Manager Ryan Rexroth

Institutional Licensing Manager Marco Castellan

Senior Operations Analyst Lana Guz

Manager, Agent Relations and Customer Success Judy Lillibridge