Meet the Editors

Lisa D. Chong
Deputy Editor, Insights
Education: B.A., Cornell University; Ph.D., Yale University
Areas of responsibility: General inquiries about Insights section; perspectives in all biological sciences and biomedicine, social science, economics, policy, history of science; editorials, opinions
E-Mail: lchong@aaas.org

Andrew M. Sugden
Deputy Editor, Research; International Managing Editor
Education: B.A., D.Phil., University of Oxford
Areas of responsibility: General inquiries about editorial procedures and policies (environmental, life, and social sciences); ecology, paleoecology, archaeology, anthropology, conservation
E-Mail: asugden@science-int.co.uk

Valda J. Vinson
Deputy Editor, Research
Education: B.S., University of Natal; Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Areas of responsibility: General inquiries about editorial procedures and policies (biology and biomedical sciences); structural biology, biophysics, biochemistry
E-Mail: vvinson@aaas.org

Jake S. Yeston
Deputy Editor, Research
Education: A.B., Harvard University; Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Areas of responsibility: General inquiries about editorial procedures and policies (physical sciences); chemistry, applied physics
E-Mail: jyeston@aaas.org

Gemma Alderton
Senior Editor
Perspectives Editor
Education: B.Sc., University of Bristol; D.Phil., University of Sussex
Areas of responsibility: Perspectives in biological sciences and biomedicine
E-Mail: galderton@science-int.co.uk

Caroline Ash
Senior Editor
Education: B.Sc., Ph.D., Leeds University
Areas of responsibility: Reviews; microbiology, parasitology, infectious diseases, virology, epidemiology, ocean ecology, evolution
E-Mail: cash@science-int.co.uk

Gilbert J. Chin
Senior Editor
Education: A.B., Ph.D., Harvard University
Areas of responsibility: Psychology, economics
E-Mail: gchin@aaas.org

Julia Fahrenkamp-Uppenbrink
Senior Editor
Perspectives Editor
Education: Intermediate Diploma in Chemistry, Free University of Berlin; Ph.D., University of Cambridge
Areas of responsibility: Perspectives in physical sciences and ecology, chemistry, climate, science policy, history of science
E-Mail: jfahrenkamp@science-int.co.uk

Michael A. Funk
Associate Editor
Education: B.S., Vanderbilt University; Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Areas of responsibility: biochemistry, geomicrobiology, environmental science
E-Mail: mfunk@aaas.org

Brent Grocholski
Associate Editor
Education: B.S., University of Minnesota; Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Areas of responsibility: Mineralogy, geophysics, materials science
E-Mail: bgrochol@aaas.org

Pamela J. Hines
Senior Editor
Education: A.B., Oberlin College; M.S., University of Wisconsin; Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Areas of responsibility: Plant science, developmental neurobiology, education
E-Mail: phines@aaas.org

Stella M. Hurtley
Senior Editor
Education: B.A., University of Cambridge; Ph.D., European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Heidelberg
Areas of responsibility: Cell biology, cellular microbiology, membrane traffic, protein targeting, protein folding, organelle biogenesis, cytoskeleton, cell polarity, prion biology
E-Mail: shurtley@science-int.co.uk

Barbara R. Jasny
Deputy Editor, Emeritus
Education: B.A., New York University; Ph.D., The Rockefeller University
Areas of responsibility: Genomics, genetics, biomedicine, molecular evolution, public policy, computational social science
E-Mail: bjasny@aaas.org

Priscilla N. Kelly
Associate Editor
Education: B.Sc., University of Western Australia; Ph.D., University of Melbourne
Areas of responsibility: Preclinical development, translational medicine, cancer immunotherapy, drug discovery, clinical trials, gene and cell therapy
E-Mail: pkelly@aaas.org

Paula A. Kiberstis
Senior Editor
Education: B.A., University of Massachusetts; Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Areas of responsibility: Cancer, biomedicine, molecular and cell biology, virology
E-Mail: pkiberst@aaas.org

Marc S. Lavine
Senior Editor
Education: B.A. Sc., University of Toronto; Ph.D., University of Cambridge
Areas of responsibility: Materials science, biomaterials, engineering
E-Mail: mlavine@aaas.org

Steve Mao 
Senior Editor
Education: B.S., Peking University; Ph.D. University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Areas of responsibility: Molecular biology, DNA biology, RNA biology, nuclear and chromatin biology, synthetic biology, biotechnology development
E-Mail: smao@aaas.org

Ian S. Osborne
Senior Editor
Research, Perspectives Editor
Education: B.S., Ph.D., University of Dundee
Areas of responsibility: Physics, applied physics, materials science, engineering, mathematics
E-Mail: iosborne@science-int.co.uk

Beverly A. Purnell
Senior Editor
Education: B.S., Shepherd College; M.S., Ph.D., The Pennsylvania State University
Areas of responsibility: Developmental biology, gene regulation, stem cells, reproductive biology, molecular biology, epigenetics
E-Mail: bpurnell@aaas.org

L. Bryan Ray
Senior Editor
Education: B.A., University of California, Berkeley; Ph.D., University of Virginia
Areas of responsibility: Signal transduction, systems biology, protein and gene networks, cell cycle, cell death
E-Mail: bray@aaas.org

Seth Thomas Scanlon
Associate Editor
Education: B.A., University of Pennsylvania; Ph.D., University of Chicago
Areas of responsibility: Immunology, hematology, host–pathogen interactions
E-Mail: sscanlon@science-int.co.uk

Jennifer Sills
Letters Editor
Education: B.A., Duke University
Areas of responsibility: Letters
E-Mail: jsills@aaas.org

H. Jesse Smith
Senior Editor
Education: B.S., University of California, Santa Barbara; M.S., University of California, San Diego; Ph.D., Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego
Areas of responsibility: Paleoclimate, paleoceanography, climate change, atmospheric science, ocean science
E-Mail: hjsmith@aaas.org

Keith T. Smith
Associate Editor
Education: M.Sci., Ph.D., University of Nottingham
Areas of responsibility: Astronomy, planetary science
E-Mail: ksmith@science-int.co.uk

Jelena Stajic
Senior Editor
Education: B.Sc., University of Belgrade; Ph.D., University of Chicago
Areas of responsibility: Physics, applied physics, computer science, mathematics
E-Mail: jstajic@aaas.org

Peter Stern
Senior Editor
Education: M.D., University of Frankfurt Medical School; Ph.D., University of Heidelberg
Areas of responsibility: Cellular and molecular neurobiology, cognitive neurobiology, systems neurobiology, ion channels, electrophysiology, neurological diseases, neuropharmacology
E-Mail: pstern@science-int.co.uk

Phillip D. Szuromi
Senior Editor
Research, Perspectives Editor
Education: B.S., Harvey Mudd College; Ph.D., California Institute of Technology
Areas of responsibility: Chemistry, physics, materials science
E-Mail: pszuromi@aaas.org

Valerie Thompson
Associate Book Review Editor
​Education: B.A., Miami University; Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Areas of responsibility: Book Reviews
E-Mail: vthompso@aaas.org

Sacha Vignieri
Senior Editor
Education: B.A., University of California, Berkeley; Ph.D., University of Washington
Areas of responsibility: Organismal biology, behavioral ecology, evolutionary biology, conservation biology, zoology, paleontology
E-Mail: svignier@aaas.org

Brad Wible
Senior Editor
Perspectives Editor
Education: B.S., Drexel University; Ph.D., Northwestern University
Areas of responsibility: Policy, education
E-Mail: bwible@aaas.org

Laura M. Zahn
Senior Editor
Education: B.A., Smith College; Ph.D., University of Arizona
Areas of responsibility: Evolution, genetics, genomics, plant sciences
E-Mail: lzahn@aaas.org

Latest News